Uncategorized

P is for persistence.

Last Monday evening at 9:30pm, Alex came downstairs after being tucked in bed and presumably asleep to tell us he had forgotten something important.

He had been nominated again by his classmates for student council. There was a paper to sign for permission and some questions he had to fill out answers to. Of course he was also supposed to bring in a poster and write and present a speech. Needless to say I was irritated by the fact it was 9:30pm after a 3 day weekend when all of that could have been prepared in a timely fashion!

I asked if he wanted to participate again? He said yes. I had him fill out the paper. I signed it. He brought it to school and then he forgot to turn it in!

I asked again if he really wanted to participate because his forgetfulness was proving otherwise. He assured me again that he did.

I made him grab his poster from last year, we put a different picture of him on it and I said there you go. Last week was a busy week in the Quinn household, but when isn’t it a busy week with 4 kids?!

He walked out the door to go to the bus without the poster and I almost lost my mind and I had Katie go get him so he could retrieve it.

He turned everything in. He wrote a small speech about how he enjoyed student council last year and would dance in front of the class if he won this year.

He got the most votes and won. According to him, they play a random song on Friday afternoons and the class said, now you have to dance and he did. He said it was the craziest dance he’s ever done and he couldn’t repeat it if he tried and that his class was laughing and cheering.

He was both very proud of winning again and very embarrassed about the dancing but when he tells the story, he is grinning from ear to ear.

I love Alex. I’m proud of him. Not everything is going to be perfect and Pinterest worthy and it’s okay to reuse things you already have.. I love that even with his forgetfulness, he persisted. I admire the persistence. I just have to remember that I admire it when he is using it in ways that drive me crazy 😂

Leave a comment